“I” [[a poem]] 

I am my own person.

Depression can touch me but it cannot break me.

Mania can keep me company but it will not outrun me.

I am my own person.

I can cope.

I can heal.

Myself… And others.

I heal a little more as time passes by.

I am my own person.

No one can decide who I am but me.

The person that I want to become is just on the horizon.

She’s waiting for me to be ready.

I am my own person.

I am stronger than I think.

I sleep in a warm bed of promises…

Promises that I’ve made for myself.

Promises that are never too far away.  

I am my own person.

I can feel the harsh winds striking my face, but I don’t allow them to scar me.

They are fleeting.

Just like you, depression.

I am my own person.

I spend my time laying in patches of green grass only to find that my mania has caused me to rip them from their roots.

But it’s never too late to grow more.

That’s something you must know, mania.

I am my own person.

I wade in the pool of inspiration and sacrifices.

I wade, but I never dip my head in.

Because my head does not sit idly with inspiration, and my mind does not dwell on the sacrifices I’ve made.

I am my own person.

I am my own person.

I am my own person.

And if you don’t understand that, depression and mania, then you have to go.

I am my own person.

And you are separate from me.

-Jess

3 comments

  1. Simply amazing, I really liked the way you emphasized the true greatness that every individual possesses within them. We all are complete in our respective way & certainly don’t need anyone to lean on. Thanks for sharing such a heartwarming post! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them 😊

    Liked by 1 person

What's the word, Larry Bird?

