Taking Meds Every Day Is Important

I’m feeling a lot better. I realized that my meds are still working, but I was being lazy about how I used them.

I’d take them three days in a row, miss a day, take another, miss another day, take them two days in a row, miss two days, etc.

I didn’t realize that that still has an effect on how the meds work.

Now I realize that sounds dumb, but I really didn’t think about it.

Then I stopped taking them and sunk into depression a little bit.

I don’t want to call it regressing, because no recovery is perfect.

Why be so hard on myself when I know that this is an ongoing battle?

Nah, I’d rather not participate in self loathing, especially when I’m in a level headed frame of mind.

Anyway I’ve been taking my pill every single day now, not forgetting or missing any days. It’s been about 10 days now and that’s usually when I start seeing changes.

It’s pretty amazing that an anti-depressant that’s right for you can change your whole life in 10 days. Puts things into perspective for you.

If you are surviving without meds, I commend you. Everyone has the option to do so, and believe me, it’s not easy.

I prefer meds because I myself would rather make it a little easier on myself.

I’ve been through a lot. I deserve to have a normal and fulfilling life, and I deserve to be able to live that life without pain every day.

-Jess

One thought on “Taking Meds Every Day Is Important

What's the word, Larry Bird?

