I like my Depression how I like my Sex

Protected.
Yes. That just happened.

This doesn’t ring true for everyone, but personally I feel that I am much better off with my medication. It keeps me from becoming suicidal (no scares since July 4th, 2014) and quite frankly it allows me to be the best version of myself.

I don’t have that cloud of heavy depression brain blocking my view of my goals, dreams, and responsibilities. It helps me get out of bed easier in the morning. I don’t jump up and sing by any means, but I don’t have that crushing feeling of wanting to die every morning. Wanting to stay in bed because I’m too afraid to face the world.

Now when I say I like my Depression how I like my sex I mean I’d rather not risk something happening because I decided not to be safe.

Not a perfect metaphor because for sex it’s a new life, and for Depression it’s… Death, but you catch my drift.

Why risk not taking medication when you know it gives you a better chance at life?

This is of course only if you’re someone that is taking medication and is successful on it.

-Jess

3 comments

  1. I completely and wholeheartedly agree with you. I have started a blog in which I want to discuss depression in detail, because despite having a couple of terrible low points, this is the first time in my life I am getting help. I am on medication and getting some incredible support, for free through the NHS. I would really appreciate you checking out my first post and discussing. I also want to look at medication options in more detail, because for me also, unless it’s a placebo – I’m better!
    https://starryeyedmotivator.wordpress.com/2015/02/10/1-depression-anxiety-that-never-ending-sense-of-impending-doom/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Even if it was a placebo! It’s totally okay. Because regardless of whether it truly works, or your brain thinks it’s working, you’re better! I’ll definitely check out your blog. Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my page and read this post!
      -Jess

      Liked by 1 person

What's the word, Larry Bird?

