Believing in yourself even when you really can’t

______________________________________________________

Two weeks ago I had a job interview at a nice restaurant downtown. I was excited and to be honest, a little intimidated. I passed the initial interview and they asked me to come in and do a test run for a shift. I did and from what I remember it went really well. I was pretty sure I was going to get it.

But here’s the thing… I didn’t get it.

Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 5.09.38 PM

There have been times where I’ve sent in a Resumé and haven’t gotten called in for an interview, but never in the history that is Jessica Garcia have I not gotten a job after coming in for an interview.

I realize that may sound petty, but I really took pride in that, and now I can’t because it’s not true anymore.

It’s funny… the moment you feel like you can’t believe in yourself anymore is the moment you have to believe in yourself the most.

Sure you believe in yourself when things are going well. Why wouldn’t you?

It’s when nothing is working out and no one is around and you only have yourself that you MUST be your biggest fan.

I just got hired at an amazing prestigious hotel downtown as a concierge. SALARY!

I’m so excited! As long as my plan stays in motion I shouldn’t have money problems anymore.

I’m happy, but I’m also a little bit disappointed in myself. I put on a brave face at my interview today and played the confident and bubbly version of me. The one I usually am.

But on the inside I had absolutely no faith in myself. And that makes me incredibly sad.

Who else is going to believe in me if I don’t?

Even if I hadn’t gotten the job, I should know better than to lose faith in myself. I’m fully capable of doing anything I set my mind to. Even If I didn’t get the first 1,000 jobs I interviewed for, I should still be excited for the thousand and first.

Say this job doesn’t work out for me on either end. What’s next? I just give up?

No.

I can’t. I won’t.

I am making a promise to myself that no matter what, as along as I’m out there working hard to get what I want, I will always believe in myself. Because I’m doing everything that I can to stay afloat, and that is definitely worthy of my self acceptance.

I hope you’ll make the same promise no matter what it’s in regards to. A Job, a relationship, a family, a friendship, school, etc.

Believe in yourself, because you deserve to.

-Jess

What's the word, Larry Bird?

